The American Geophysical Union (AGU), a Washington, D. C.–based international nonprofit scientific association with more than 60,000 members, was established in 1919 as a committee within the National Research Council of the National Academy of Sciences. AGU was independently incorporated in 1972 and works on a broad spectrum of scientific topics that span all of the Earth and space sciences. Since its founding, the union has remained dedicated to the furtherance of the geophysical sciences through the individual efforts of its members and in cooperation with other national and international scientific organizations. These goals are met through publishing scientific journals and other technical publications, sponsoring scientific meetings of various sizes throughout the year, and a variety of other educational and scientific activities.

AGU is built on a foundation of shared values that include valuing the scientific method, the generation and dissemination of scientific knowledge, free exchange of ideas and information, respect for a diversity of ideas and approaches, accountability to the public, and excellence and integrity in everything we do. Our science is accurate, peer reviewed, and well respected.