General Student Travel Grant

Read the following eligibility requirements to determine if you are eligible for a Student Travel Grant.

Applications Open: 31 January 2013
Application Deadline : 17 April 2013


  • Current student member of AGU.
  • Recent graduates and postdoctoral fellows are not eligible.
  • Enrolled in a degree-granting university- post-docs are not eligible.
  • Demonstrated interest in science policy via coursework, publications, positions held or the like.


  • Applications must be complete to be considered.
  • Recipients must comply with all rules regarding expenses and financial procedures, which will be communicated upon awarding of grants.
  • Recipients are required to respond to a web-based post-meeting survey and submit a brief (‹300 words) report on the benefits of attending this meeting.

Evaluation Criteria

Applications will be evaluated on the basis of several criteria. For the 2013 Science Policy Conference, preference will be given to applicants meeting more than one of these criteria:

  • Students from races, countries, and genders which are underrepresented in the sciences.
  • Students who have sufficient additional funding resources to cover the remainder of the meeting registration and travel expenses.
  • Students whose abstracts show scientific merit to application reviewers in applicable fields.

Additional Information

  • Applicant must pay his/her own meeting registration fee.
  • Grant awards are $500 for U.S. attendees and $1,000 for international attendees.
  • Grant will only cover hotel and airfare expenses.  Food, additional travel expenses, registration fee, visa application fees, etc. will not be covered by the grant.


APPLY HERE for a 2013 Science Policy Conference Student Travel Grant

*** NOTE:  The grants system does not accept your AGU member login- you will need to create a new account if you have not applied for an AGU grant previously.

Contact for customer service.

AGU would like to thank the corporate sponsors and the many AGU members and donors who support Student Travel Grants.