18 April 2014

Scientists, Policymakers, Industry Leaders Gather in Washington, D.C.
2014 AGU Science Policy Conference: Save the Date

AGU Contacts:
Peter Weiss, +1 (202) 777-7507, pweiss@agu.org
Joan Buhrman, +1 (202) 777-7509, jbuhrman@agu.org

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Scientists from leading research institutions, federal and state agency representatives, industry leaders, NGO staffers, and many others will gather in Washington, D.C. from 16 – 18 June for the American Geophysical Union’s (AGU) annual Science Policy Conference. During the event’s two plenaries and 18 sessions, presenters and attendees will discuss a wide range of challenges facing the American economy, public safety, and national security, and how science can help develop sustainable solutions and inform critical policy decisions.

WHAT: 2014 AGU Science Policy Conference

WHERE: Walter E. Washington Convention Center, Washington, D.C.

WHEN: 16-18 June 2014

TOPICS: Climate Change Energy Outlook and Climate Preparedness, U.S. Federal Investment in Science, Disaster Preparedness and Flooding, Elements of a National Water Policy, 21st Century Resources, and Public Private Science Partnerships.

CONFIRMED PLENARY SPEAKERS: Peter Marquez, Vice President for Global Engagement, Planetary Resources and former space advisor for presidents Barack Obama and George W. Bush, and Kate Gordon, Vice President and Director of Energy and Climate Programs, Next Generation and Executive Director, Risky Business (Public Private Science Partnerships); and U.S. Rep. Jim Moran (D-VA-8) (U.S. Federal Investment in Science).

CONFIRMED SESSION PRESENTERS: Margot Anderson, Executive Director, Energy Project, Bipartisan Policy Center; Vicki Arroyo, Executive Director, Georgetown Climate Center, Georgetown School of Law; Carolyn Berndt, Principal Associate for Infrastructure and Sustainability, National League of Cities; Harold Brooks, Senior Scientist, National Severe Storms Laboratory, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration; Leslie Chapman Henderson, Director, Federal Alliance for Safe Homes; Jana Davis, Executive Director, Chesapeake Bay Trust; Jay Famiglietti, Director, Center for Hydrologic Modeling, University of California, Irvine; Thomas Harter, Cooperative Extension Specialist, University of California, Davis; Kris Ludwig, Staff Scientist, United States Geological Survey; James F. Reilly II, Dean of Science and Technology, American Public University System and former U.S. Astronaut; Jim Schwab, Senior Research Associate, American Planning Association; Eugene S. Takle, Professor, Agronomy, Geological and Atmospheric Sciences, Iowa State University; Carol Werner, Executive Director, Environmental and Energy Study Institute; Mary Lou Zoback, Consulting Professor, Stanford University.

Media registration is now open. Members of the news media including print, broadcast and online journalists, as well as public information officers, may register online in advance at the Science Policy Conference website. Registrants will receive, at no charge, a badge that provides access to all of the scientific sessions of the meeting, as well as to the onsite press room. Visit https://spc.agu.org/2014/media-center/ to register and for more details.

The American Geophysical Union is dedicated to advancing the Earth and space sciences for the benefit of humanity through its scholarly publications, conferences, and outreach programs. AGU is a not-for-profit, professional, scientific organization representing more than 62,000 members in 144 countries. Join our conversation on FacebookTwitter, YouTube, and other social media channels.